The London Fashion Week Soundtrack, Volume 2: Matthew Williamson

Anyone who’s ever been to a fashion show knows having the right soundtrack is nearly as important as the right styling or set design. It sets the mood, can really give a collection a bigger meaning and often explains what designers were inspired by.

I have been to shows that moved me to tears, in a big part because of how gripping the music was, went to others that had me bouncing in my seat. There’s a real magic in finding the music that can narrate the story you want your clothes to tell. In short, the right catwalk music is so, so very important.

One of the masters in doing this is Burberry’s Christopher Bailey, a real music buff. After every one of his shows I would leave with 2-3 songs I desperately wanted to find as soon as I got home. Every time I hear them, even now, I am transported right back to the catwalk, and I remember the clothes and atmosphere vividly. I know I wasn’t alone in feeling this. The man’s taste in music is as impeccable as it is in clothes, so it made sense that the British Fashion Council asked him to make a compilation with his favourite (acoustic) tracks.

This might seem like a longwinded way of introducing the second compilation, this time curated by Matthew Williamson, but it is my way of saying “I get it”. It’s not a gimmick, but a wonderful way of connecting with a designer, discovering what inspires them and maybe recapture a few of those rare magic catwalk moments. It’s a piece of LFW to own, one that won’t go out of season…

The artwork for the album has been designed by Matthew Williamson and the package is a lavish hardback book, housing the CD and stunning photography within the booklet.

About the collaboration Matthew Williamson has said ‘Music is an integral part of my life. It evokes ideas, feelings, powerful emotions. Music is with me from the start to the finish of my day: when I’m getting ready to leave the house, during travel, in my studio, and of course on the dance floor at night. The most exciting moment is when the lights go down and the music begins at a fashion week show; selecting the right music is so crucial to expressing the inspiration behind a collection. I don’t mind that it’s subjective; I love how music takes people to different places.’

It will be released straight after London Fashion Week on 28th February and be available nationwide from iTunes, Amazon, HMV, Play as well as selected contemporary fashion boutiques. A limited number of albums will also go on sale this week in Matthew Williamson stores and online at

‘The Collection for London Fashion Week’ is a creative relationship between fashion and music through the BFC/Bazaar Fashion Arts Foundation and its music partner Sony Music.

Track Listings:

1. Marlena Shaw – California Soul
2. Empire Of The Sun -Walking On A Dream
3. The Temper Trap – Sweet Disposition
4. Best Coast – I Want To
5. I Blame Coco – Selfmachine
6. Róisín Murphy – Overpowered
7. Kelis featuring André 3000 – Millionaire
8. The Charlatans – The Misbegotten
9. Ladyhawke – Back Of The Van
10. The Raveonettes – Lust
11. Santigold – L.E.S Artistes
12. Cold War Kids – Hang Me Up To Dry
13. Ali Love – Love Harder
14. Oh Land – Sun Of A Gun (Yuksek Remix)
15. Brazilian Girls – Pussy
16. Passion Pit – Sleepyhead
17. Caribou – Bees
18. 4hero – Morning Child

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *